Read Aloud Thursday

read-aloud-1-300x300 Amy is back with Read Aloud Thursday! It’s a great place to get recommendations for books to read with your kids. She has a fantastic recommendation today for a math picture book that I’m going to add to our list.

We read less and less picture books together as a family. This makes me sad sometimes, but it’s also because my kids are reading more and more on their own. So it’s more bittersweet than bitter. This month I got all the Cybils fiction picture book nominees out of the library and read them with various combinations of kids. (Mostly with the 7 and 10 year old. But my 13 year old still always reads all the picture books in the basket on his own even if he’s not around when we read them together.)

My favorite of the nominees was Brendan Wenzel’s They all Saw a Cat. A cat travels 28101612through the world “with its whiskers, ears and paws….” and encounters a dog, a child, a bird, a bee, a fox, a mouse, a snake, a fish, a flea, a skunk, a worm and a bat. Each page shows how the different creature sees the cat. We see differences in perspective (a bird’s eye view) and differences in how animals see (the snake sees in heat waves) and differences in perception (the mouse sees the cat as a huge scary beast). The text is simple and repetitive but the illustrations elicited a lot of good conversation from my kids about the way each creature “saw”. Bonus points because the repetitive refrain reminded me of one of my favorite poems by Pablo Neruda.

Honorable mentions for me would go to:
A Hungry Lion or a Dwindling Assortment of Animals by Lucy Ruth Cummins
There’s a Bear on My Chair by Ross Collins
Strictly No Elephants by Lisa Mantchev

Cummins’s book is funny and unexpected. And vaguely disturbing (comment by my 10 year old vegetarian son). Collins’s Bear and Mouse reminded me of the Bear and Mouse in Bonny Becker’s fantastic series of books except that in this case it’s the Mouse that is the curmudgeon of sorts. And Mantchev’s book about a boy with a tiny elephant pet who is left out of the neighborhood pet club is sweet and funny.

Our current family read-aloud is Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban. It’s been fun to read these out loud. The boys have read them on their own but this is the first time through for Ruth and we are enjoying sharing the world of Harry with her. We also listened to Grace Lin’s Where the Mountain Meets the Moon as our most recent audiobook. We have multiple audiobooks on hold as our next potential listen but I’m not sure what to do next as our next read aloud. Any suggestions?

And don’t forget to stop by Hope is the Word for more reading aloud!

 

3 thoughts on “Read Aloud Thursday

  1. I have A Hungry Lion or a Dwindling Assortment of Animals right now. It is . . . .unexpected! I didn’t even get it the first time I read it. (I don’t know what that says about me. . ) I’ve tried to get the cat book, but it’s always checked out. Maybe I need to put a hold on it.

    I’m thinking about a grand HP marathon at our house, too. (Though it would definitely have to wait until the Anne marathon is over!) It would be fun. Is Ruth finding them scary at all? That’s what I’d be afraid of with the DLM. He’s pretty sensitive, for all his rough-and-tumble ways.

    So glad to be back!

    • I think Ruth finds them a little scary but not too bad. I probably would have just read the first one and then stopped for awhile but we are planning on going to Harry Potter World in California in May. We were trying to keep from having too much of the books be given away there. I think we’ll likely stop after the fourth book as they get significantly darker and scarier after that. Her brothers approve of that plan. 🙂 It is one of the few series that a 7 yr old and a 13 yr old are both excited about. Having them share it is special.

Leave a Reply

