Cybils Finalists

cybils-logo-2016-round-lgThe Cybils finalists were announced on Jan 1st. I used to follow this annual award contest more closely. For several years I made an attempt to read as many of the fiction and non-fiction picture books as I could and I served as a non-fiction judge one year. Judging was super fun and I would love to do it again but I’m not sure I blog enough to qualify.

Even if we’re not reading as many picture books as we used to and I’m not blogging much about the chapter books we read, I still look forward to the finalists each year. The Cybils is unique among book awards in that the books are selected based on literary merit AND kid-appeal. I pretty much can always find excellent book choices for all three of my readers from the winners and finalists.

This year I’m especially excited about the new audiobooks category. We listen to a LOT of audiobooks (which probably is mostly a reflection of spending too much time in the car). I’m going to look for Out of Abaton and The Inquistor’s Tale: Or the Three Magical Children and Their Holy Dog in our library. Both look excellent. I think my fantasy loving 13 yr old will love Illuminae and it’s hard for me to find anything he hasn’t already read so I’m excited to give him something new to try.  I also put pretty much all the fiction picture books, non-fiction elementary books, and middle-grade graphic novels on hold. It’s like Christmas in January! If you have kids, check out the Cybils website and the lists of finalists (this year and past years). I guarantee that you will find something good.

Leave a Reply

