2016 Books

Total Books Read in 2016: 67
Fiction Books Read in 2016:  52 (1 play, 2 graphic novels)
Non-Fiction Books Read in 2016: 15
Audiobooks in 2016: 5

When I look back over what I read at the end of the year I always have a hard time making lists like “top ten” or picking favorites. Instead, I often find myself looking over my lists and thinking about the books that I’ll remember the most from the year.

  1. What is the What by Dave Eggars
    Probably the most difficult and saddest book I read this year due to the material. But also probably one of the most grace-filled and ultimately hopeful. 
  2. My name is Lucy Barton by Elizabeth Strout
  3. A Spool of Blue Thread by Anne Tyler
    Strout and Tyler are both perfect at capturing the lives of ordinary people and making the reader see the extraordinary in those lives.
  4. The Heart by Maylis de Kerangal
    This story of a heart transplant told from the perspective of all the different participants (including the heart) is one of the more unusual books I’ve ever read.
  5. All the Birds in the Sky by Charlie Jane Anders
    Adult fantasy meets science fiction. I tend to think I don’t like either (although I loved fantasy as a kid). This might be the book that convinced me I was wrong. 
  6. American Born Chinese by Gene Yang and Roller Girl by Victoria Jamieson
    And these two reads early in 2016 convinced me that graphic novels are also one of those “things I don’t like” that I’m wrong about. 
  7. Chains trilogy by Laurie Halse Anderson
    We are totally immersed in all things Revolutionary in our homeschool. I read the first of this young adult trilogy along with my oldest as an assigned school book and then loved it so much I had to read the other two. Really excellent. 
  8. When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi
  9. Patient H. M. : A Story of Memory, Madness and Family Secrets by Luke Dittrich
    Both of these medical books were memorable for different reasons. Kalanithi’s memoir of dying is sad and beautiful and should probably be required reading for all doctors. Patient H. M is an incredible story of a real-life man who suffered complete short-term memory loss after a lobotomy and then became the basis for most of what we know about memory today. The fact that the author is the grandson of the surgeon who performed the lobotomy made the book even more memorable. 
  10. Bonhoeffer: Pastor, Martyr, Prophet, Spy by Eric Metaxas
    Reading this book during this election season was almost surreal. The story of Bonhoeffer itself is unforgettable but made even more so juxtaposed against current politics.

My full list of books read in 2016 is here for those interested.

If you like checking out lists of books (and adding to your own TBR list) be sure to check out Semicolon’s special year-end Review of Books.

2 thoughts on “2016 Books

  1. WOW, you never fail to impress me! Proud of you. ❤ And your "3 Amigos" are awesome readers, also, as you and H. have encouraged them to be! ❤

  2. Pingback: 2017 bookish goals

Leave a Reply

