January Reading

Fiction Read in January: 

The Nature of the Beast by Louise Penny
American Born Chinese by Gene Yang
A Long Walk to Water by Linda Sue Park
What is the What by Dave Eggers
Black Dove, White Raven by Elizabeth Wein

A Career of Evil by Robert Galbraith
The latest in the Coromon Strike series. These mysteries border on the too-graphic for me, sort of like some of the Elizabeth George books. Similar to those, I’m pulled back by the ongoing character development of Strike and his assistant Robin and to see what happens as the relationship between them grows and changes.

Smoky the Cowhorse by Will James
Read for Amy’s Newbery challenge.  I’m enjoying reading through the Newbery books, but found this one a little slow for my taste. I’m probably not enough of a horse girl to appreciate the very detailed and loving descriptions of the life of a horse. The ending was also tainted by some very blatant racism, something that I’m not surprised by in books from that era (1920’s) but that still felt pretty ugly.

Non-Fiction Read in January:
Rare Bird by Anna Whiston-Donaldson
I plan to post more about this memoir in the next few days. Suffice to say for now that I already know that it will be on my list of best books of the year. 

Read with the Kids:
The Doll People by Ann Martin
Ruth’s recent bedtime book. She loved it and has requested the next one in the series. 

The Adventures of a South Pole Pig by Chris Kurtz
We all were charmed by the story of Flora, an intrepid pig who wants to be part of a sled dog team. Part Charlotte’s Web, part Babe and part it’s own quirky self, this was a fun read. On a recent long and difficult walk in the snow I got Ruth to keep going by chanting Flora’s mantra , “Pigs. Don’t. Give. UP.”

The Mystery at Meerkat Hill by Alexander McCall Smith
Picked to read during our Africa studies but we got a little behind. I didn’t have another lunchtime read-aloud so we sped through this one in a couple of days. It’s meant more as an early chapter book for a young reader and for that it would be perfect. It was a little simple as a read-aloud. The “mystery” is very gentle and not at all scary.

Chasing Vermeer by Blue Balliet (audiobook)
We finally jumped on the bandwagon for this very popular mystery series for kids. I had mixed feelings. I liked the quirkiness and the details about art and the kids that were unapologetically intellectual and geeky. But the overall plot bugged me. It depends a lot on coincidences (which itself is part of the plot…whether or not things are really coincidence or some bigger universal force at work). Much of the mystery is solved by the kids suddenly getting a feeling that a place or a number or a color is important and then having it actually be a critical clue. The kids seemed to like it for the most part, although John made some snarky comments about all the coincidences. I think that’s more being twelve than the book’s fault. 

Ongoing/Up Next:
Unfinished Desires by Gail Godwin (audiobook)
My current audiobook to listen to when I’m alone in the car. About a small Southern Catholic school run by nuns. I enjoyed Godwin’s memoir on Publishing at the end of last year and wanted to read something else by her and this was what was on the library shelf. 

Five Days at Memorial by Sheri Fink
Recommended by Sherry. I’ve only just begun but it’s looking fascinating. 

A Call to Spiritual Reformation: Priorities from Paul and his Prayers by D. A. Carson
A group of women at my church is reading through this book on prayer together slowly. It’s challenging and led to some great discussion. 

The boys and I are reading Mossflower by Brian Jacques. Ruth has requested the next Doll People book for her bedtime book. John has repeatedly requested that we listen to The Saturdays and other Melendy books in the car so I think those will up next for audiobooks.

How about you? What are you reading?

 

Leave a Reply

