Slow Cooker Spinach Lasagna

IMG_3116

About two nights a week I use our slow-cooker for dinner. The boys have swim practice that gets us home at 6:00 pm and it’s either the slow-cooker, a quickie dinner or a late dinner that pushes into our evening time together. There is something very nice about walking into the house and knowing dinner is ready. I love that. But I’ve gotten a little tired of the “meat in sauce” slow-cooker dinners. I’ve even gotten a little tired of soups and chilis.

All that is background to saying that the absolute best thing I’ve discovered in the past month is the use of the slow-cooker for other types of recipes. We enjoyed some roasted veggies in the slow cooker last month and a fried tofu style of dish. I’m especially always on the look out for vegetarian recipes that David will eat. (Yes, he’s still a vegetarian after 2 1/2 years.) My favorite so far is this spinach lasagna. It’s absolute genius! Lasagna is a delicious food but usually a time-consuming dish to make. In the slow-cooker it’s miraculously easy. And I’m not using the word “miraculously” lightly.

When I first made this I roughly followed this recipe at Pinch of Yum. This time I took her literally that you could just “haphazardly throw the ingredients” into the pot. I kind of randomly layered jarred spaghetti sauce, broken (uncooked!) lasagna noodles, ricotta, spinach and shredded mozzerella. Every now and then I sprinkled in some basil, salt and oregano. I’ve seen this recipe other places and most people use frozen spinach. I just used fresh and threw it in as a layer. A bonus was that I used whole wheat noodles which I think my kids would have rebelled against normally. And did I mention that you don’t have to boil the noodles first. Just throw them in! It will be fine.

It comes out delicious, if not the most beautiful lasagna in the world. All my kids ate it, which is always a winner. Some even had seconds.

 

One thought on “Slow Cooker Spinach Lasagna

  1. Sounds and LOOKS delicious! My girls have started swimming (!!!), so I get the supper rush, too. I’m going to try this one!

Leave a Reply

