Our Week in Books

13119928The first week of 2016 has been a good one filled with lots of books. Ruth has been enjoying reading Nancy Clancy: Super Sleuth. She is a long time Fancy Nancy fan and is excited to now be able to read the chapter books series by herself. She even made herself a “reading corner” in her room out of a comfy pillow and blanket and lamp. It’s very cute. She and I are still reading through the Magic Treehouse series together (we alternate pages) as part of school but I realized this week that we don’t really need to. I asked her if she wanted to stop and just have more reading on her own time but she likes MTH and likes reading together so we’ll keep with it for now.

Both boys have been reading through stacks of graphic novels, mostly 13591161from Nathan Hale’s Hazardous Tales series. I joined them in the world of graphic novels this week by reading Gene Yang’s American Born Chinese.

John and I  are also reading and discussing A Long Walk to Water by Linda Sue Park as part of our Africa studies. I was inspired to pull Dave Eggers’ What is the What off my shelves (one of those books I’ve meant to read for a long time but haven’t) after reading A Long Walk to Water. So far it’s a compelling story. We’ve also been enjoying a stack of picture books on Africa.

24586590I finished Louise Penny’s latest Armand Gamache novel, The Nature of the Beast, this week. I like this series quite a bit although I tend to roll my eyes a bit at how supposedly perfect the town of Three Pines is. (And oddly full of murderers for such a quiet paradise.) Gamache is definitely too good to be true but that doesn’t keep me from returning to his world. This novel has him struggling a bit with retirement and his role in an investigation into the murder of a child in Three Pines who has discovered an old secret in the forest. The story seemed a bit far-fetched until I got to the end and read the author’s note and learned that part of it (the most far-fetched) was based in reality.

The kids and I are reading The Doll People by Ann M. Martin and Mossflower by Brian Jacques as bedtime books. At lunchtime we are reading The Adventures of a South Pole Pig by Chris Kurtz. It’s quite funny and endearing. I’m not sure exactly what H. has been reading but I think he is mostly reading books about Iceland in preparation for a planned family trip later in 2016.

On the Night-table:
What is the What
by Dave Eggers
The Well-Educated Mind by Susan Wise Bauer (second edition)
Praying with Paul: A Call to Spiritual Reformation by D. A. Carson

Consider making it a New Year’s Resolution to join in Semicolon’s Saturday Review of Books.

3 thoughts on “Our Week in Books

  1. Pingback: This week in books – Hope Is the Word

  2. Pingback: January Reading | Supratentorial

Leave a Reply

