Messiah Sing Along

IMG_2845

IMG_2847

IMG_2853

Last night we went to the Messiah Sing Along at the Kennedy Center. Tickets are free but you have to stand in line to get them. We arrived about two hours early but then they started the giveaway early so we were only in line about an hour. We came loaded down with a tote bag full of games, books, snacks and art supplies (packed by the kids). The time passed fairly quickly and then H. met us there with Chipotle for dinner.

I am completely non-musical. I think I’m tone deaf and I know that I’m a terrible singer. I think for that reason I may enjoy this kind of event more than anyone. There is something absolutely amazing about singing with a huge group of people and hearing beautiful music. I know that my voice wasn’t really contributing to the beauty but it sure felt like it was. It’s really a fantastic experience. I commented to H. afterwards that it was surprising to me how few of our friends and family were interested in joining us. I think the combination of going into DC and standing in the line scared people off. But it’s really a festive time and singing with thousands of other people is well worth it. If you are in the area next Christmas I would highly recommend giving it a try.

For unto us a son is born, unto us a son is given, and the government shall be upon his shoulder, and his Name shall be called Wonderful Counselor, The Mighty God, the Everlasting Father, The Prince of Peace.

 

One thought on “Messiah Sing Along

Leave a Reply

