Cat Out of Hell

23012627 This odd little book is a strange marriage between horror and comedy. It works overall (although there are parts where the comedy seems forced or the holes in the plot are a little too big to overlook). It was a fun light read for the busy holiday season. I read most of it in one day sitting at swim practice and the rest in line for free tickets for the Messiah Sing-A-Long.

I’m not normally a reader of horror, but I made the exception for  Cat Out of Hell because of the author. Lynne Truss was also the author of Eats, Shoots and Leaves, the immensely popular and wickedly funny book about grammar. I figured if she could make me laugh about semi-colons she was worth reading more of. I’m kind of kicking myself that I didn’t seek out her other books before seeing this one on the new shelf at my library.

It would be hard to sum up the story in a way to do it justice but it involves cats that are quite literally the servants of Satan. The main character is a retired librarian and there are many literary references (Jane Eyre, Tennyson, Hamlet).

It is horror but not horribly so. And it is comedy, of the dry slightly sarcastic kind. If those things sound interesting to you and deep down you have always suspected that your cat might be plotting all kinds of things behind your back, this might be the book for you.

 

Leave a Reply

