Scenes from the Washington Monument

DSCN6091

DSCN6131

 

Someone at our co-op arranged a Washington Monument Field Trip. The Monument had closed for a few years for earthquake damage repair but recently reopened. It was a cold but beautiful late fall day. And quite windy, as you can tell by the flags.

DSCN6081DSCN6127

I’ve lived in the DC area for 21 years and have been in Virginia my whole life but I’ve never been inside the Washington Monument. (At least not that I remember, it’s possible that we went when I was a small child.) I think it’s one of those things that you always think you’ll get to when you live in a place or it seems like something locals don’t do. It was a perfect day for it, with clear blue skies and fantastic visibility all around. The most interesting part to me were the monument stones that are visible on the descending elevator ride.

DSCN6143

DSCN6165

I signed up for this field trip a few weeks ago but had been thinking about canceling last week. Due to our fall birthday season (almost over after tonight’s sleepover at our house) we have had a lot of short weeks and missed school. I told H. that I was thinking of not going and he said “That would be sad.” I decided he was right. And he was. It was a beautiful day. We learned a little and had fun together. And they even got in a tiny bit of math and writing and reading and piano before we left. When I told H. about the day he said it sounded like the perfect homeschooling day. Right, again.

2 thoughts on “Scenes from the Washington Monument

  1. I bet the kids loved the view from the top. When I was in the 7th grade, I took a trip to D.C. with a church group. We climbed the stairs to the top of the Washington Monument. (I think they closed the stairs to the public a long time ago.) We had been told how many steps there were, so we counted, just to be sure. As I remember, there were 900+ steps. We also looked for the Virginia stone. By the way, I am pretty sure that we did take you in the Monument when you were little. I seem to remember waiting in line for the elevator.

    Pop

  2. I’ve been up in the Monument, but it has been a LOOOONG time–about 30 years ago. When Steady Eddie and I were there on our honeymoon 15 years ago, it was closed.

    Some day soon, I hope! 🙂

    I agree with H.–the perfect homeschool day!

Leave a Reply

