Cybils!

Happy New Year! I’m sure you all know what that means, right?

The Cybils shortlists are being announced today, of course! Head over and check out the best of children’s and young adult literature in 11 different categories. There is something for everyone, I promise.

Having served as a first-round panelist this year in the Elementary and Middle Grade Non-Fiction category, I can say I don’t envy the job of the second-round panelists. We took 96 books and narrowed it down to an outstanding list of seven. They have to somehow pick the one finalist and I don’t know how I’m going to wait until Feb 14th to find out which one they choose. And I’m even more excited to see the shortlists in the other categories.

The main thing I learned from this process is that when you take 96 books and narrow them down to 7 there will inevitably be really great books left off the list. Books I loved were left off the list. I had to leave books I loved off my own shortlist that we had to turn in. What better way to discuss what was shortlisted and what wasn’t than by participating in the Armchair Cybils over at Hope is the Word. What better way to ring in the New Year than by talking about books! I hope to be back later today with some of my thoughts.

Leave a Reply

