Scenes from the National Zoo Reptile House

IMG_4184IMG_4190IMG_4209IMG_4226IMG_4241

IMG_4263

 

For John’s tenth birthday we gave him a behind-the-scenes tour of the Reptile House at the National Zoo. I have to admit that reptiles are not my favorite animals but John has always found them fascinating. I’m not sure I would say I loved spending a Saturday morning among the snakes and lizards but I did love the time with him. And the look on his face when he got to hold the snake. And yes, despite a lifelong fear of snakes, I held one too. My personal favorite was feeding the Alhambra tortoises. They are surprisingly quick and agile 500 lb. creatures when you enter their enclosure with a head of lettuce.

 

2 thoughts on “Scenes from the National Zoo Reptile House

  1. Pingback: Matilda | Supratentorial

Leave a Reply

