Armchair Cybils Round-Up: Elementary and Middle Grade Non-Fiction

I hope you are all having as much fun as me reading some of the best in children’s and young adult’s literature along with the Armchair Cybils at Hope is the Word.

This year, as a round 1 panelist, I’ve mostly been reading Elementary and Middle Grade Non-Fiction. Because I’ve read so many from this category, 50 books to be exact, I’m going to make this a separate post from books I’ve read in other categories. It might get boring to list them all here, so I’ll just put the ones that I’ve also reviewed. Because I’m a panelist I’m not going to say which ones are my favorites at this point. I’ll just say it’s going to be really tough whittling this group down to a shortlist. There are a lot of excellent books that I’ve had the opportunity to read.

Elementary and Middle Grade Non-Fiction Read and Reviewed:
Master George’s People: George Washington, His Slaves, and His Revolutionary Transformation by Marfe Ferguson Delano

Look Up! Bird-Watching in Your Own Backyard by Annette LeBlanc Cate

When the Beat was Born: DJ Kool Herc and the Creation of Hip-Hop by Laban Carrick Hill

Flying Solo: How Ruth Elder Soared Into America’s Heart by Julie Cummins

Electrical Wizard: How Nikola Tesla Lit Up the World by Elizabeth Rusch

Barbed Wire Baseball by Marissa Moss

Becoming Babe Ruth by Matt Tavares

You Never Heard of Willie Mays? by Jonah Winter

The Tapir Scientist by Sy Montgomery

Brave Girl: Clara and the Shirtwaist Makers’ Strike of 1909 by Michelle Markel

Courage Has No Color by Tanya Lee Stone

Locomotive by Brian Floca

10 Plants that Shook the World by Gillian Richardson

The Skull in the Rock by Lee R. Berger and Marc Aronson

That’s a Possibility by Bruce Goldstone

Who Says Women Can’t be Doctors? by Tanya lee Stone

My First Day by Steve Jenkins and Robin Page

Frog Song by Brenda Guiberson

Obviously, I’ve read a lot more than I’ve reviewed. Not reviewing doesn’t necessarily mean I liked the book less, usually it just means that I read it during a busier stretch of time. I have a stack of about 5 or 6 more books from this category on my desk that I hope to review in the next week or so. Stay tuned!

One thought on “Armchair Cybils Round-Up: Elementary and Middle Grade Non-Fiction

Leave a Reply

