October Reading

The theme of October was mostly elementary and middle grade non-fiction as I immersed myself in reading for my role as a Round 1 Cybils panelist. Throw in a bunch of mysteries, some other middle grade fiction and a handful of short stories and it was an interesting month.

Fiction Read in October:

Oh, Jerusalem by Laurie King (Audiobook)
Justice Hall by Laurie King
I’m continuing to listen to this series starring the duo of Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes during my morning time in the car. I read the print version of Justice Hall as my library didn’t have the audio version. They are just as good the second time around.

The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith
As most people know by now, Galbraith is a pseudonym for J. K. Rowling. I stayed away form Rowling’s other foray into adult fiction (The Casual Vacancy) as I heard too many very negative reviews. This detective story confirmed my previous thoughts of Rowling: she can write. She especially has a gift for character development. Even the minor characters are well-drawn individuals. I thoroughly enjoyed this one.

The Golden Goblet by Eloise Jarvis McGraw
Read along with John to go along with our studies of ancient Egypt.

Ghost Hawk by Susan Cooper
I had such high hopes for this book, a Cybils nominee for middle grade speculative fiction. Susan Cooper is the author of my all-time favorite series from childhood, The Dark is Rising series. We went on our honeymoon to Cornwall, primarily due to that series. Let’s just say I’m a fan. Overall, I was quite disappointed in this latest book, which takes place in 17th century Massachusetts and is told half from the perspective of a Wampanoag boy and half form a young Pilgrim boy. I hope to review it in more depth soon.

Short Stories read in October:

The Six Napoleons by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
The Greek Interpreter by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
The Bear Came Over the Mountain by Alice Munro

Non-Fiction Read in October:
-I’ve read over 40 books for the Cybils but I’m only listing the ones here that are for older kids. No real reason, except that I don’t typically list picture books that I read. Most of these that haven’t already been reviewed, I hope to review soon.

The Skull in the Rock: How a Scientist, a Boy, and Google Earth Opened a New Window On Human Origins by Lee R. Berger and Marc Aronson

The Tapir Scientist by Sy Montgomery and Nic Bishop

Courage Has No Color: The True Story of the Triple Nickels, America’s First Black Paratroopers by Tanya Lee Stone

Ten Plants that Shook the World by Gillian Richardson

The Wild Horse Scientists by Ky Frydenborg

Master George’s People: George Washington, His Slaves, and His Revolutionary Transformation by Marfe Ferguson Delano

Fourth Down and Inches: Concussions and Football by Carla Killough McCafferty

Bones Don’t Lie: How Forensics Helps Solve History’s Mysteries by Elizabeth MacLeod

The Case of the Vanishing Honeybees by Sandra Markle

One thought on “October Reading

  1. Pingback: Armchair Cybils Round-Up: Not non-fiction (or everything else) | Supratentorial

Leave a Reply

