March and April Reading

I haven’t been posting much about the books I’ve been reading the past two months but I have been reading.

Middle-Grade Books Read:

Joshua Dread by Lee Bacon
You thought you had embarrassing parents when you were in middle school? Joshua Dread’s parents are super-villians who are constantly trying to destroy the world. On top of that the new girl at school, Sophie, is the daughter of famed superhero Captain Justice (arch nemesis of the Dread parents). And Joshua has newly discovered super-powers of his own to figure out. Not to mention the pressure of figuring out if he wants to use his powers for good or for evil.

I read this one mostly because John devoured it soon after I brought it home from the library and LOVED it. It was a fun read and I liked the super-villian twist on the typical superhero story.

Bud, Not Buddy by Christopher Paul Curtis
Number the Stars by Lois Lowry
Both of these Newbery Award winners were assigned reading for John in the past month. I read them as well so we could discuss them together. I especially liked Number the Stars as a good introduction to the Holocaust for a 9 year old. In focusing on the Danish resistance and rescue of Danish Jews, it is a good way to soften the blow of such a horrific period in history.

Fiction Read: 

Animal Farm by George Orwell
Believe it or not, this was a first for me. I’m glad I read it although I can’t say it was really an enjoyable read.

The Sparrow by Mary Doria Russell
I read this one for a book club. Set in 2019 (more than 20 years in the future when the book was written in 1997), it describes a Jesuit mission that goes out to seek contact with a recently intercepted signal from space believed to be from extraterrestrial life. The book looks at what happens when cultures collide and at what happens when personal faith is tested in severe ways. I really liked this one, as did most of our book club. A warning, some terrible things happen in the book so this one isn’t for everyone, especially the squeamish. However, I liked that Russell wasn’t afraid to ask really hard questions and didn’t necessarily try and answer them.

11-22-63 by Stephen King (listened to on audiobook)
I thoroughly enjoyed all 31 CDs of this audiobook. What happens when a man discovers a portal to 1958 and decides to go back in time and try and stop the assassination of J.F. K. ? King is a fantastic writer. I’d call this one a page-turner although for me it was more of a sit-in-the-driveway and listen-to-just-a-little-bit-more book.

Non-Fiction Read: 

The Deadly Dinner Party by Jonathan Edlow
Every Patient Tells a Story by Lisa Sanders

Spiritual Depression: Its Causes and Cures by D. Martyn Lloyd Jones
Recommended by Amy and Janet. I’ve had this on my shelf for awhile but pulled it out recently to use as my daily devotions time. It’s fantastic rich reading.

Reading Currently:

The Tiger’s Wife by Tea Obrecht
The Shakespeare Stealer by Gary Blackwood (for John’s school)
Bomb :The Race to Build-and Steal- the World’s Most Dangerous Weapon by Steve Sheinkin (also for John’s school)

 

 

6 thoughts on “March and April Reading

  1. Looks like a lot of good reading. I’m interested in the superhero one and the Stephen King title, though I’ve always avoided his books. Do you think I could tolerate this one (I mean is there a lot of bad language, etc.)?

    I need to finish reading Spiritual Depression!

    • I don’t know about the Stephen King. It is a lot of bad language. There is also a fair amount of gore. It’s not really a horror kind of book but there is a definite gross/gory element. A lot of it is fairly medical so it didn’t bother me too much but I’ve heard others say that they didn’t like if for that reason. I didn’t find it scary but it is suspenseful. Hope that helps. 🙂

      • Thanks. I think I won’t even bother trying, based on your evaluation. 🙂

  2. Pingback: May Reading | Supratentorial

  3. Pingback: 2013 Reading Year in Review | Supratentorial

  4. Pingback: Superheroes, sort of. | Supratentorial

Leave a Reply

