Scenes from the Hirshhorn.

SAM_6415SAM_6408SAM_6406SAM_6441SAM_6433

 

We took the kids to see the Ai WeiWei exhibit at the Hirshhorn Museum last weekend. I wasn’t sure what they would think. To be honest, I wasn’t sure what I would think.

What was interesting to me was that our kids are fairly accepting of modern art. They don’t really understand it at a conceptual level. They couldn’t tell you about what the art might mean or represent or be saying. Adults who see something they don’t understand often respond with the cliched “A five year old could do that.” I know that has sometimes been my own initial reaction to works that I just don’t get. The kids seems to respond more with “Hey, that’s kind of cool.” Or if they don’t like it they just move on and don’t worry about it.

Don’t get me wrong, there were things they didn’t get and things they didn’t like. But I was surprised by how much they did like and by how much they were interested in.

The last picture is the view from a room at the top of the Hirshhorn. I have lived in or around DC for 20 years and have never known that was there. A good reminder that there is always something new to see.

3 thoughts on “Scenes from the Hirshhorn.

  1. A lot of the art in that show is very accessible, and you find yourself intrigued by it without really knowing anything about its context or supposed significance; I think that makes it more appealing to kids than we might expect. I was surprised by how much my 8-yr-old son was engaged with some of the pieces.

    • You’re right, the art in that show is quite accessible. I was also surprised though by how much my kids were interested in many of the other works at the Hirshhorn. They all found pieces that they were attracted to, often ones that I might have just walked by.

Leave a Reply

