On My Nightstand

I was a bit more varied in my reading habits this month than last month. I finished some of the books mentioned in my nightstand post last month, read some things that weren’t on my radar when I last wrote and still have some of the same things on the stack to be read.

In April I read the following:

House of Mirth by Edith Wharton
Loved it. I was completely absorbed in Lily’s tragically beautiful world.
Special Topics in Calamity Physics by Marisha Pessl (Audiobook)
Entertaining, if meandering and altogether too long. I highly recommend the audiobook.
Sister by Rosamund Lupton
Literary thriller. Just the right amount of creepy, great characters, with a medical slant.
Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson (YA, Audiobook)
Excellent writing helps this to rise well above the “afterschool special” plot. My first book by this author; I will read more.
Wildwood by Colin Meloy (Middle Grade)
A girl tries to save her brother in a fantasy wilderness. Full review to follow soon. Bottom line: I wanted to like it more than I did.
Make the Butter, Buy the Bread by Jennifer Reece
Practical and funny. A cookbook I liked so much that I bought it.
The Swerve by Stephen Greenblatt
A worldview radically different from my own but worth reading. Interesting, but ultimately very flawed and with a failed thesis.
Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World that Can’t Stop Talking by Susan Cain
Woo-hoo! Introverts rejoice, we finally have our manifesto!

With my boys:
Greenwitch
by Susan Cooper
Toys Go Out
by Emily Jenkins
Toy Dance Party
by Emily Jenkins
Toys Come Home
by Emily Jenkins  

Up next? I have a lot of books about reading on my actual nightstand. The Heroine’s Bookshelf by Erin Blakemore, The Pleasures of Reading in an Age of Distraction by Alan Jacobs, On Rereading by Patricia Meyer Spacks and Lit! by Tony Reinke. I’m reading The Heroine’s Bookshelf right now and it’s a lovely little book. I’m also currently reading Made to Crave by Lysa TerKeurst and listening to The Ten Year Nap by Meg Wolitzer in the car. The first is helpful and good, the second is only mildly enjoyable but I’ll probably finish it just because it’s rare that I don’t finish a book.

What else? I also have A Duty to the Dead by Charles Todd waiting for me and I’m sure something else will pop up during the month. A lot of times what I read is determined by what becomes available off my hold list at the library.

Finally, one of the bookish projects I’m most excited about is that John and I are reading The Adventures of Tom Sawyer together. We are each reading it on our own and then “meeting” to discuss what we’ve read. I’d like to start doing this kind of family book club on a regular basis so I’m hopeful that this will be the start of something regular. (And wonderful serendipidity: the selection for the virtual bookclub at Reading to Know next month is Tom Sawyer).

What’s on your nightstand?

8 thoughts on “On My Nightstand

  1. Ooh, you absolutely must read Laurie Halse Anderson’s Chains and Forge. I loved them (& reviewed the, of course). They’re historical fiction so they’re unlike her modern problem novels, but oh, so good.

    Yay for Tom Sawyer! I’m reading it for the first time next month! Is John reading the original?

  2. Echoing Amy, I loved Laurie Halse Anderson’s Chains and Forge. I haven’t read anything modern by her, though.

    I’m almost through reading the blurbs in Make the Bread, Buy the Butter and am thinking that regardless of what I end up making, I’ll be buying this book (the copy I have right now is on loan from the library.)

    Finally, I am bummed to see that my library doesn’t own a copy of Heroine’s Bookshelf (Guess that means I’ll be waiting for your review before trying to track it down elsewhere.)

  3. I’ve heard so many good things about Laurie Halse Anderson. Maybe Speak should move toward the top of the list.

    It’ll be awhile though. Currently I’m rereading LOTR.

Leave a Reply

