Poetry Friday: Math + Poetry = Fun

In my mind, math and poetry go together like oil and water. They just don’t mix. Betsy Franco proves me wrong here, with a delightful collection of “math poems”. These poems are mostly visual so a bit hard to share here.

Here’s a sampling to give you an idea.

farmland – harvest = earth’s naptime

sneeze x 3 = winter sniffles

tadpole = 2/3 frog  

We had fun reading this book. I liked that it expanded our concept of what poetry is. I liked that some of the poems are very visual and include graphs. I liked that a lot of the poems made us all think a little bit. As we read it after dinner one night there was a lot of “Oh! I get it!” And I also liked that it was a book enjoyed by everyone in the family from the two year old on up.

Related Posts:

My review of another Betsy Franco math book.

Betsy Franco’s website (where I learned that she has three sons, one of whom is the actor James Franco)

Some lesson plans using the concepts in this book.

Poetry Friday is hosted this week at Booktalking.

8 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: Math + Poetry = Fun

  1. Pingback: Poetry Friday Reads « Booktalking

  2. Hi Alice, I have learned over the past few months that science and verse can actually mix beautifully, but math and poetry? That I haven’t tried yet. 🙂 I shall definitely look for this book to see for myself.

    I also love sneeze x 3 = winter sniffles or in my daughter’s case, allergic rhinitis. 🙂

    Thanks for sharing this!

  3. Pingback: That’s a Possiblity! | Supratentorial

  4. Pingback: Nonfiction Monday: Mysterious Patterns | Supratentorial

Leave a Reply

