Read Aloud Thursday: Our Week in Books

For this week’s Read Aloud Thursday I thought I’d highlight what books each child is enjoying.

I could say that Ruth has been enjoying all the “If You Give A…” books. Or that she continues to love the dinosaurs in Dinosaur Roar. Or that she can pretty much read herself Go, Dog, Go! at this point. (No, my two year old doesn’t read but she has it essentially memorized.)Β All that would be true. But really, this has been the week that Ruth discovered Dora. What can I say? Excelente!

David and I are sharing The Boxcar Children as his special nighttime book. This was one of my favorites as a child and although he didn’t like it at first, he’s enjoying it now. John and I are also enjoying one of my childhood favorites, The Dark is Rising by Susan Cooper for his “special book”.

One of the things I look forward to most as a parent is sharing books I loved as a child with my kids. It’s a bit of a tricky thing though. I was actually saving The Dark is Rising series for John to read one day on his own because I remember discovering it myself and loving it. However, I’d offered it to him several times and he wasn’t interested so I decided to read it with him. He likes it but it’s also clear that he doesn’t love them like I did. At first this was somewhat disappointing but I’ve gotten over that silliness and realized that he’s a different person than me. (Shocking, I know!)

It’s one of the strangely tough parts of being a parent. You want your kids to be their own person, and yet in some primal way you also want them to be like you. I’ve come to realize as John has gotten older (and become more and more of his own person) that one of my favorite parts of being a parent is discovering who my kids are. It’s fun to see them get into things I never liked (or that weren’t around when I was a kid). It’s been fun to discover new books with them (Redwall). And it is fun to share my old favorites with them, I just have less of an expectation that my favorites have to be their favorites.

Although if Ruth doesn’t like Anne or Betsy or Laura, she just might want to keep it to herself.

For more Read Aloud Thursday, be sure to stop by Hope is the Word.

6 thoughts on “Read Aloud Thursday: Our Week in Books

  1. Dora and Boots are so cute! That cover makes me want to pick it up and read it. πŸ™‚ I read the Dark is Rising in the ancient of days. LOL It is always a joy to see parents sharing a love of literature with their children!

  2. Hey! It worked!

    Hmm. . . now what did I want to say about this post? Oh, yeah–it is a little disappointing, I think, when our kids don’t love the books we love as much as we love them. I think I’ve made the mistake on a couple of occasions of introducing the book too early, though.

    • Yea! Glad you can comment! πŸ™‚ I think sometimes it has been me being too anxious to introduce a book and sometimes it’s just different personalities.

  3. Pingback: Read Aloud Thursday: Toys Come Home | Supratentorial

Leave a Reply

