On My Nightstand

 I’ve been meaning to join in on the What’s On Your Nightstand? blog carnival for awhile. Mainly as a way for me to regularly look over what I’ve read and what I’m    thinking about reading next and because I think it’s interesting to see what others are reading.

Because I didn’t do this in January this is what I’ve read so far this year.

*The Piano Teacher by Janice Y. K. Lee (Fiction)
Flawed but enjoyable tale of WWII China. 
*I Think I Love You by Alison Pearson  (Fiction)
Funny, fluffy fun. David Cassidy and growing up in the 1970’s.
*
City of Tranquil Light by Bo Caldwell (Fiction)
Really excellent. Realistic exploration of marriage and a spiritual life.
*An Atlas of Impossible Longing by Aduradha Roy (Fiction)
Multi-generations in a Indian family. At times engaging but with a disturbing ending.
*The Sense of an Ending by Julian Barnes (Fiction)
Engrossing, powerful novella about the limitations of memory.
*Death Comes to Pemberley by P.D. James (Fiction, Mystery)
Worth reading if you are a fan of James or Austen.
*The Most Dangerous Thing by Laura Lippman (Fiction, Thriller)
Childhood friends are confronted with the terrible secret from their past.
*Believing the Lie by Elizabeth George (Fiction, Mystery)
One in the Inspector Lynley series. Somewhat of a return to past glory.
*
Bury Your Dead by Louise Penny (Fiction, Mystery)
Part of the Inspector Gamache series. Updated cozy mysteries.
*The Rise and Fall of Mt. Majestic by Jennifer Trafton (Juvenile Fiction)
Great middle-grade fantasy.
*The Shallows by Nicholas Carr (Non-fiction)
Really, really interesting look at the Internet and our brains.
*Below Stairs by Margaret Powell  (Non-fiction)
Memoir by a post WWI kitchen maid and cook in England. A more gritty Downton Abbey.
*Confessions of a Prairie Bitch by Alison Arngrim
Very funny memoir by Nellie from Little House on the Prairie.
*Still by Lauren Winner
Honest account of a mid-faith crisis. 

And as read-alouds with my boys:

The Adventures of Doctor Dolittle by Hugh Lofting
Nim at Sea by Wendy Orr
Secrets at Sea by Richard Peck
Owls in the Family by Farley Mowat
Lady Lollipop by Dick King-Smith
Clever Lollipop by Dick King-Smith
Mattimeo by Brian Jacques
Over Sea, Under Stone by Susan Cooper

Right now I’m reading Dead End in Norvelt, mostly our of curiosity out of what won the Newbury. I’m finding it mildly enjoyable so far. I’m also reading The Wilder Life by Wendy McClure, which is one of those “person does quirky thing and writes about it” books. On the recommendation of Amy I’m also slowly reading Choosing Gratitude by Nancy Leigh DeMoss which is giving me a lot to think about. I have a huge stack of books waiting in the wings, a bunch of library holds came in all at once. In March I’d like to finish Death of Adam by Marilynne Robinson, which is excellent but really dense. I’d also like to read The House of Mirth by Edith Wharton. The last few years I’ve been reading through a list of classics and that is next up on the list.

3 thoughts on “On My Nightstand

  1. Oh, I hope you’re enjoying (not really the right word) the gratitude book. It makes me nervous when people read books on my recommendation. I want to read Dead End in Norvelt (of course!) but I can’t get a copy locally yet. I’ve ordered it for the library where I work, but the wheels turn sooooo slowly there that we’ll probably be on summer break before it’s processed.

    • I am really enjoying the gratitude book. Well, at times it’s a little too uncomfortable to really be “enjoying” but I’m finding it very timely and I’m learning a lot.

  2. I’ve got Dead End in Norvelt on my TBR shelf. Looking forward to it! What a great bunch of books you’ve read this year. I hope you enjoy The Wilder Life; I thought it was a lot of fun. And Wharton’s The Age of Innocence is a beautiful book, so I expect House of Mirth is, too. I hope to get to that one someday.

Leave a Reply

