Armchair Cybils: The Winners

The Cybils winners were announced today. I’ve been following along with Hope is the Word. I concentrated on reading picture books, both fiction and non-fiction.

The winner of the fiction category was Me….Jane by Patrick McDonnell, a book we liked but didn’t love. I would have picked a different book to win, but I’m not surprised this one won as it also was named a Caldecott Honor Book. I still don’t quite understand why this falls in the category of fiction rather than non-fiction but I’ll defer to the judgment of the Cybils judges.

I’m much more excited about the non-fiction winner,  I Feel Better With a Frog in My Throat by Carlyn Beccia. This was definitely my personal favorite in the category and I also think it’s a great book.  An unusual topic, presented in a fun and unique way. Packed full of interesting facts in a really accessible format. I’m very excited it won.

I haven’t read any of the other winners, nor have I read enough in any of the other categories to really have strong opinions about what should have won. Overall, I really enjoyed following the Cybils this year. It was a great way to read a lot of new books and the process of thinking about what makes a book “award winning” was interesting for me. I hope Amy does it again next year.

 

2 thoughts on “Armchair Cybils: The Winners

  1. I agree with you perfectly. I “liked but didn’t love” Me…Jane–and considered I Feel Better with a Frog in My Throat a personal favorite. I’m going to guess, though, that my experience–trying to read at least one book from each category–was quite different than your more focused reading.

  2. My kids and I are just finishing up the nonfiction picture books, and I haven’t asked them to vote yet, but I’m pretty sure I Feel Better… will be their favorite. I thought Me…Jane was a very sweet book, but I am also puzzled about it being placed in fiction. My kids liked I Want My Hat Back and The Princess and the Pig best — I wrote about them here: http://leaningtowerofbooks.blogspot.com/2012/02/picture-books-cybils-fiction-finalists.html

    Aren’t the Cybils fun? 🙂

Leave a Reply

