Read Aloud Thursday: Not Christmas Books

After my last post and that title I’m afraid people might start to think I’m a Scrooge. Not at all. I do like Christmas and Christmas books. However, this time of year the book blog world is full of Christmas books so I decided to highlight some of the non-Christmas books we’ve been enjoying.

Meerkat Mail

After reading Blue Chameleon by Emily Gravett I decided to seek out some other books by the same author. I picked this one at random, and boy, did I choose wisely. I loved this book. Sunny is a meerkat living in the dessert where it is too hot, too dry and and sometimes there is just too much family closeness. So he packs his bag and goes off to visit his various mongoose relatives. Told through lift-the-flap postcards, the story is both funny and full of fascinating facts about mongooses. I think this book is a perfect example of why I love to read. If someone asked me if I wanted to learn more about the different variety of mongooses living in Africa, I’d likely say no thanks. But reading the story in this way was not only interesting but made me think I might want to learn more about mongooses and meerkats (and whether they have any other “relatives”).

M.O.M. (Mom Operating Manual)

This new book by Doreen Cronin (Click, Clack, Moo) is quite funny. It’s a clever maintenance manual for Moms. I laughed quite a lot when reading it, mostly at myself. I’m pretty sure my younger two kids didn’t get the humor but later I discovered that John had read it on his own. The three of them apparently have a couple of jokes now from it and have formed a “Kid’s club” with secret passwords. The jokes may be on me but it does a mother’s heart good to see siblings having fun together (even if it is at my expense). I think this one is probably enjoyed best by an older child reading it alone and giggling privately over the jokes and accompanying illustrations by Laura Cornell. It’s not as easy to do as a read-aloud.

Max's Castle

This is the third book we’ve read about Max and his brothers. What they all have in common is a celebration of the imagination. I’ve liked all three but I really loved this one the most. Max and his brothers build a castle out of alphabet blocks. They experience some dangerous situations but they play with the words to save themselves. They turn an adder into a ladder to climb out of the dungeon then turn the tapestries into pastries to celebrate. Like all good books, this is one that improves with each reading. A fantastic read for anyone who loves words and  playing with them. This book was published too late to be a nominee for the 2011 Cybils but it will be on my list to nominate for 2012.

5 thoughts on “Read Aloud Thursday: Not Christmas Books

  1. There are some new ones here to me, too. But I have heard of MOM Operating Manual, and I agree it sounds so funny! I think Doreen Cronin is working on a DAD Operating Manual, too, and I want to read both 🙂

  2. Pingback: Read Aloud Thursday: Emily Gravett | Supratentorial

Leave a Reply

