Name that grocery cart.

Q: What do these things have in common:

A 5 lb bag of potatoes, a Kefir smoothie, 3 six-packs of pre-packaged Jello, two boxes of soup, and a bottle of Ibuprofen?

Skip ahead to the end for the answer if you just can’t wait.

The summer after college I worked as a grocery store cashier. It wasn’t a hard job but I mostly hated it. It was mind-numbing dull work. (As a disclaimer, I now have the perspective that I should have been grateful for the work but I was a typically self-absorbed 21 yr old.)

To pass the time, I liked to make up stories about the people who came through my line based on what was in their grocery basket. I thought of this as more of a detective game than a creative writing exercise.

Little grey haired lady with basket of hot dogs, Kool-Aid and Oreos?
Grandkids are coming for a visit.

Twenty-something guy with wine, roses and filet mignon?
Dating someone and it’s advanced to him cooking her dinner.

Middle-aged woman with Pop-tarts, ice cream, frozen pizza and 4 gallons of milk?
Several teenage boys at home.

You get the idea.

So the answer to the question at the beginning of the post is these were all items in my grocery cart tonight. And I would be?

Middle-aged woman with husband who just had semi-major dental surgery.

Thanks for playing.

4 thoughts on “Name that grocery cart.

  1. Great game….Hope H feels better soon. I missed one of the answers though….for Middle-aged woman with Pop-tarts, ice cream, frozen pizza and 4 gallons of milk, I was thinking menopausal cravings although the 4 gallons of milk didn’t fit in. 🙂

Leave a Reply

