Maybe Champaign is all that after all.

When I was in 9th grade, I had a friend named Liz who had recently moved to the area from Champaign, Illinois. Liz, like many who find themselves in a new place, liked to talk about her old hometown and how wonderful it was. She also liked to talk about all her friends there and tell stories about them. A lot. This was understandable, but sometimes a little annoying as the people in Champaign were always fabulous and perfect in ways that we Virginians clearly were not.

One day she showed me a picture of a girl with the typical 80’s big hair and said, “This is my friend Alison, she’s going to be famous one day.” I have to admit I rolled my eyes a bit thinking this was the typical Champaign hyperbole.

But last night I went here to see Liz’s friend Alison play and sing like an angel. We’ve seen her at least 3 or 4 times in concert and it’s always a fantastic experience.

 

One thought on “Maybe Champaign is all that after all.

Leave a Reply

