Sugar and spice and everything nice

As any Mom of boys can tell you, when you have boys and they are young you get a lot of comments along the lines of “I bet you have your hands full” or “Boys are just so full of energy.” And when you have more than one boy, the comments increase exponentially. I catch myself making the same kind of comments to moms who have more boys than me.

I’m not one to deny that there are innate differences between the genders. Of my three kids only one has loved to play with baby dolls. Only one routinely goes through her dresser drawers and wants to try on new outfits.

At the same time, only one of my children has ever required me to call poison control. Only one has tossed a shoe out of a moving car.  Only one routinely gets out of the bath and runs through the house naked. Only one has been known as the leader of the nursery (full of boys).

Let’s just say it’s the one without the Y chromosome.

Leave a Reply

