Recipe: Delicious Deviled Eggs


These deviled eggs are the best.  They aren’t really difficult, but I think the peeling and preparation are time-consuming enough that most people appreciate them. They are festive enough for a celebration and great for a picnic or potluck. I typically make them around Easter.

The recipe is my Mom’s. I’m not particularly sentimental about things. I don’t have the silver or china that belonged to my grandmother. I do like family recipes though. There’s something especially satisfying about eating a dish that tastes like it tasted when I was a child. It becomes more than just a deviled egg, it tastes like a memory.

Delicious Deviled Eggs

1 dozen eggs- Boiled and peeled. Use whatever method you like to boil them. I like to put the eggs in a pot with water and then bring to a boil. Once they’ve reached a rapid boil I let them go one minute and then turn the heat off but leave in the pot for five minutes. I then pour cold  water over them. When peeling these you want to be careful, as you want the egg whites to look nice.

Cut eggs carefully with sharp knife and remove yolks into bowl. Put egg whites aside.

Mash the yolks well. I use a potato masher.

To the mashed yolks add:

6-8 slices crisply cooked bacon, finely crumbled
1 TBSP. sweet pickle relish
salt and pepper to taste
1/4 cup of Miracle Whip (may need to add more to get desired creaminess, but it’s good to start with less)

Mix above until fluffy using electric beater.

Fill whites carefully. Sprinkle with Paprika. Chill and serve.

One thought on “Recipe: Delicious Deviled Eggs

Leave a Reply

