More from Sayers

Lately I’ve been struggling with having a bit of a Martha attitude about some church responsibilities. I realized I needed to work on my own heart after I said to H. that I wasn’t bothered so much by the burden of the work I was doing but the fact that other people weren’t doing more.

Ouch.

Saying that out loud made me realize just how petty and judgmental I was being.  And that I don’t want to end up like Mrs. Armstrong thinking that the show can’t go on without me.

I’m not entirely sure of the path to fixing my attitude other than prayer.

In one of those examples of how God meets us where we are I just “happened” to be reading Creed or Chaos? by Dorothy Sayers this week. The essay on work challenged me, left me with a lot to think about and left me feeling oddly encouraged.

“[Work] should be looked upon- not as a necessary drudgery….but as a way of life in which the nature of man should find its proper exercise and delight and so fulfill itself to the glory of God. That it should, in fact, be thought of as a creative activity undertaken for the love of the work itself; and that man, made in God’s image, should make things, as God makes them, for the sake of doing well a thing that is well worth doing.”

“The Church’s approach to an intelligent carpenter is usually confined to exhorting him not to be drunk and disorderly in his leisure hours, and to come to church on Sundays. What the Church should be telling him is this: that the very first demand that his religion makes upon him is that he make good tables.”

“…the moment you think of serving other people, you begin to have a notion that other people owe you something for your pains; you begin to think that you have a claim on the community. You will begin to bargain for reward, to angle for applause, and to harbor a grievance if you are not appreciated. ”

4 thoughts on “More from Sayers

  1. Pingback: Making tables. « Supratentorial

Leave a Reply

