Read Aloud Thursday: Books for Babies

One of the most interesting things about having multiple children is how quickly you see the differences in their personalities. It’s amazing to see how early they develop their own strong likes and dislikes. And what one liked isn’t necessarily something the next one will like. It’s one of my favorite parts of parenting, figuring out who each child is and getting to know him as a person.

How is Mona Lisa Feeling? (Art from the Start)

Mama, Baby, & Other First Words (Art from the Start)

These two books by Julie Merberg and Suzanne Bober are Ruth’s current favorite reads. She asks for them over and over again before bed. The concept is incredibly simple; on one page is a classic painting (Van Gogh, Degas, Rembrandt, Cassatt, Homer, da Vinci) and on the other are a few simple words. Ruth especially likes the paintings of babies and goes back to those over and over again.

Goodnight, Gorilla

This was John’s favorite book at the same age Ruth is now (about 18 months). He adored this little gorilla that lets out all the animals in the zoo in this wonderful book without words by Peggy Rathmann. His favorite page was the one with only the eyes of all the animals in the dark.

 

Clip-clop

And this was David’s favorite. I must have read this every day at naptime and bedtime for about a year. This story has a lot of repetition which works great for this age. As the animals climbed on Mr. Horse’s back and he went off “Clip-clop, clippity-clop”, I would bounce David on my lap. The horse goes faster and faster at the urging of the animals until they all fall off “Plop-plop, ploppity plop”.  Mr. Horse is worried but Cat and Dog and Pig and Duck just cry “Again!” And David would ask for it again with them.

And as always, head over to Read Aloud Thursday at Hope is the Word to check out what other moms and babies (of all ages) are reading.

 

5 thoughts on “Read Aloud Thursday: Books for Babies

  1. Oh, this beings back memories. I had entire stories memorized that I could recite in the grocery store lines to amuse my daughters when they were younger, we read them so many times: Mr Brown Can Moo, Dr Suess’s ABC, Harry the Dirty Dog especially.

    Somehow in this horse-loving home we’ve missed out on Clip Clop. It sounds adorable! I’m not familiar with the first two books you mention here either. But we do know Good Night Gorilla — such a fun one.

  2. I love this post. I truly love it. I think it’s amazing that you remember what each of your children liked at the same age–my girls are so close in age (18 months difference) that my younger dd’s baby- and toddler-hood are blurs. (Sniff, sniff.) Books I remember reading to both of them are Owl Babies, Mr. Brown Can Moo, Big A Little A, and some of the Sandra Boynton books.

    On a happier note, those art books look amazing! I think the DLM might need those. 🙂 I think we missed Goodnight, Gorilla and only read Clip, Clop once, maybe. I shall remedy that with the DLM.

    So glad you played again this week!

  3. Janet- I know what you mean. I think I can recite several of the Sandra Boynton books (A cow says Moo, A sheep says Baaa, Three singing pigs say la,la, la….) and much of Fox in Socks and One Fish Two Fish Red Fish Blue Fish.

    Amy- Aw, thanks! I think I remember so well what they each liked because they each had such a STRONG favorite. It was something they wanted over and over again and happened to be different for each one. And since each of mine are 3 years apart it’s easier for them to be separate in my memories. If you like Goodnight Gorilla, another favorite by Peggy Rathmann is 10 Minutes to Bedtime. Also wordless, very silly and adored by both my boys.

Leave a Reply

