How NPR saved my Satuday

So on Saturday I had to spend most of the day with an icepack over both eyes (post eye surgery). Lots of opportunity to rest. But. No reading. No watching TV or movies. No playing online. Did I mention NO READING. Even spending the day in bed, you can only sleep so much. So I listened to NPR for much of the day. And I was quite grateful for the huge variety of programs and topics.

I heard about:

*Three new books that I put on my TBR list: You Can Count on Monsters by Richard Evan Schwartz  (Weekend Edition), The Great White Bear: A Natural and Unnatural History by Kieran Mulvaney (The Animal Planet) and The Scent of Desire by Rachel Herz (The Splendid Table).

*Two works of music that intrigued me: Cape Dory by Tennis (Weekend Edition) and Block Ice and Propane by Eric Friedlander (Studio 360) . The stories behind the music were what really intrigued me. Cape Dory was recorded by a husband and wife team who spent a year sailing together up and down the Eastern Seaboard of the US. The songs tell the story of their trip. Block Ice and Propane is by a solo cellist who was inspired by his family road trips as a child.

*Stories on polar bears (Animal Planet) and Thai food (The Splendid Table) . Stories on Jack Kerouac (Studio 360)and tamales in Phoenix (The Splendid Table).

*Not to mention This American Life and Car Talk in their entirety.

All in all, not a bad way to spend 8 hours or so in bed.

Leave a Reply

