Signs and Wonders

So, we’ve been going through the house selling and buying process since the beginning of March. The current status is that we have a contract on our house and we have a contract on another house. We have a moving day set: two weeks from tomorrow. We have the van reserved and we’ve started doing some packing.

And yet, it is not by any means definite that we will be moving. There are problems with the financing on the contract for our current house which would then set up a cascade of events that could mean that we can’t move at all, or can’t move to the house we currently have the contract on. We’ve had to make a lot of tough decisions in the past two months and we are faced with having to make some more. Do we sell at a lower price than we want? How far do we push our financial comfort level for the house we are buying? Do we decide to rent for a year or two while we keep looking? Do we just stay where we are?

The whole process has been a bit of an emotional roller-coaster ride. Throughout, we have asked primarily for prayer that God would give us wisdom in decision-making and that He would prepare our hearts for whatever happens. I have reminded myself over and over of Jeremiah 29:11.

“For I know the plans I have for you”, declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

I think both H. and I would say we fully believe that. I think we both are very aware of people who are going through much more difficult trials than buying and selling a house. We know we are blessed and we are thankful for those blessings. I can see ways that this whole process has been good for us. I think for both of us it has been challenging but strengthened our faith and I think in a weird way it’s brought us closer together. We’re lucky in that we typically agree but that can also mean that we coast through our marriage without really having to discuss hard things. I feel like this process has forced us to have some big conversations that have been good for us.

All that is somewhat background to say that it’s also made me think about how I make decisions. As a Christian, I try to make decisions in a way that is glorifying to God. I pray and ask God for guidance. I believe God has a plan for me and our family and that it is a good plan, better even than our own plans may be. And yet, sometimes I struggle with how to know what that plan is. We’ll have something happen that seems to point positively in one direction followed by something that seems to point in a different direction. It’s tempting to pray for a clear “sign” from God that just tells us what to do. And it’s even more tempting to interpret events as a “sign”. But I’m growing more and more to believe that God isn’t really giving us those kind of signs. The fact that the contract is having problems isn’t necessarily a sign that moving isn’t meant to be. The rental house that we found that seems even more perfect than the house we are trying to buy isn’t necessarily a sign that we are meant to rent. I think it’s more a matter of making sure we are walking with God and being faithful. And that if we are doing that we will make the decisions that are glorifying to Him and right for us even when the waters are muddy.

I’m still figuring a lot of this out but I’d be interested to hear how others make decisions.

For us right now, we just continue to wait. The waiting is really hard (especially for someone whose “word of the year” was patience last year) but I think it is part of the plan.

Leave a Reply

