Yes, I’m still here.

I haven’t posted in a while and I think the longer it’s been the more I feel like I need to post something profound or thoughtful. Something that is the “perfect” post. But then I don’t really have any ideas for that profound perfect post. So instead, I’m just going to give some disconnected updates to get myself back in the groove of writing. Far from perfect, but that’s pretty much how life is anyway.

The big news here is that we’ve decided to put our house on the market and look for a new home. We’re not moving out of the area we are in or even looking for a necessarily bigger home. I like our house a lot, but I’d like to find a neighborhood that is a bit more kid-friendly. Somewhere with easy access to woods or a park or a trail or a creek. Somewhere the kids can “free-range” as they get older. Somewhere with more kids our kids age.  So mostly, I’ve been doing a lot of house decluttering and straightening to try to get it ready to be shown very soon. In any free time on the computer I’ve been obsessively searching various home databases for houses for sale. It’s somewhat all-consuming, but in a weird way also fun.

The resolutions are going fairly well. I’ve been exercising three times a week for the most part.  For March, I’m not making a new resolution but just going to focus on following through with the exercise and sticking to the No-S Diet. I know there will be a fair amount of stress with moving and I’m someone who tends to eat more and let exercise go when I’m stressed. So instead of adding something new, I’m just going to work on maintaining the new habits I have and if I can increase the exercise to 3-5 times a week.

We just finished studying ancient Greece in school and John loved all the heroes. The boys play now often consists of pretending to be Achilles and Odysseus mixed in with Luke Skywalker and Han Solo. He is starting to work on multiplication in Math and is devouring the Encyclopedia Brown series of books. He is also working on losing his first tooth. David is working on writing his name and counting up to 20 (usually with M&M’s which makes for a good incentive). He continues to love to play the “zoo” game where he pretends to be various animals in the zoo and I pretend to want to take whatever animal he is home with me. Ruth is starting solid foods. She had bananas and yogurt today and LOVED them. She is working on being able to sit alone and is almost there. She thinks her brothers are hilarious.

The past few years I’ve been reading through the novels list from the Well-Educated Mind. I’m working on War and Peace now so I probably won’t be posting many other book reviews for a while.

So there you are. A far from perfect update of my far from perfect life.  But perfect is over-rated anyway.

Leave a Reply

