Theology on the Highway

Yesterday, while driving to work I had a flat tire that ended up completely blowing and leaving me driving on the rim. It happened fairly quickly. I was aware that the tire was flat but I was in the far left lane at a toll plaza with no left shoulder. I was trying to get over to the right shoulder when I felt a big bump and looked in the rearview mirror to see the tire rolling down the road behind me. Not a sight you want to see. Luckily, due to the fact that there was a snowstorm the night before there was less traffic than usual on the road. Luckily, I was able to get over to the right shoulder without an accident. Luckily, even though I didn’t have a cell phone a police officer came by about 2 minutes after I pulled over.  Luckily, because of the snowstorm when my office called the patients on the schedule were happy to have their appointments rescheduled and not have to come out in the snow. Luckily, even though the police officer had called a tow truck, the highway emergency people came by even faster and were able to put on the spare tire for me (saving much hassle of finding a ride to work and home later in the day). Luckily, the service station I later took the car to was able to fix it yesterday and we didn’t have to deal with the hassle of not having a second car for long.

I say “luckily” because I know that’s how this story would seem to a lot of people. A lot of luck and happy coincidences.

However, I really believe that this was a series of events showing God’s providence and care for me. From the police officer who just “happened by” not 2 minutes after I stopped to the snowstorm that kept me from having a bunch of frustrated patients waiting at the office when I came in over an hour late.

The obvious question though is why if God cares for me so much did the tire even fall off in the first place.

I was thinking about that this morning when I was out for a walk. I am a person who likes feel in control. I like making long-range plans. I am a worrier. In some ways, I think that is fine. God wants us to be good stewards of our time and money and talents and often planning can help with that. But I tend to fall into the trap of thinking that I am truly in control and that my plans are somehow the only way that things will be ok.

I think the tire incident was a way of gently showing me that I’m not the one in control. And that even when I haven’t planned (no cell phone)  and don’t have the answers, the One who is control will care for me.

One thought on “Theology on the Highway

Leave a Reply

