New Year’s Resolutions

I like making New Year’s Resolutions although like most people I’ve probably broken more of them than I’ve kept. I know that the more realistic and concrete they are the more likely I am to succeed at keeping them. “Eat better” or “Exercise more” probably just won’t happen. It’s too vague and too easy to give up.

So this year, I’m trying something a little different. I will be 40 in two years and my overall goal is to be healthier at 40 than I was at 30. Or at least healthy in the areas I have control over. My idea is to make one small change a month towards better health rather than to make big resolutions for the year. I figure that this way I have a better chance of succeeding and hopefully of making those small changes become habits that stick. At least that’s what I hope.

For January, I’m giving up Diet Coke. Now, I don’t think Diet Coke is terrible in moderation but the problem is I drink way more than I should. I’m actually embarrassed to even publicly post here how much that is, but we’ll just leave it as way too much. I knew it would be easier for me to just do this “cold turkey” rather than cut back so that’s what I’ve done. So far, 4 days in, it’s going ok.

How about you? Any resolutions any of you made this year?

5 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolutions

  1. Great Post!! You are right; the way to change is through small adjustments to your daily routine. With making small adjustment your daily routine will change and in time those adjustments will be second nature. Stay at it and don’t give up. I can see you being healthier at 40 then you were at 30…it sounds like this time you have dedication and a plan in place. Way to Go. My New Years Resolution – To learn how to cook!!

  2. Giving up Diet Coke is not a “small” change. I know. It has been a year since I gave it up. It was easier than I thought it would be, but I still miss it sometimes. And, you are right–going cold turkey is the best way. Cutting back doesn’t work. I once tried saying that I would have only one a day–at lunch. It worked for awhile, but soon I found the number per day increasing. So, good for you.

  3. Pingback: February Resolution « Supratentorial

Leave a Reply

