Advent Day 18

Christmas in the Barn

This book by Margaret Wise Brown is very similar to another book of hers, The Big Red Barn, which is one of David’s favorites. I have to say I have mixed feelings about it. The text is in verse that sometimes rhymes and sometimes doesn’t. I find that difficult to read-aloud as the rhythm seems off to me. I do like that she uses lines from familiar Christmas carols interwoven into her text. The illustrations in this newer version show a modern barn in a New England like setting, which I find a bit weird as it’s supposed to be where Christ is born. But David didn’t seem to notice this or be bothered by it and he’s the age this book is written for. He enjoyed it, and that’s good enough for me.

2 thoughts on “Advent Day 18

  1. Pingback: Advent Reading | Supratentorial

  2. Pingback: Advent Reading | Supratentorial

Leave a Reply

