Seriously Good Brownies

If you like chocolate you’ll like these brownies. The recipe was given to me by a friend who reads this blog so hopefully she won’t mind me sharing. She’s an excellent cook, in fact, H. and I both agree that one of the highlights of having a baby each time has been having her bring us a meal afterwards.

She gave the brownie recipe to me awhile ago because we’d once had a discussion about how we both had never found a brownie recipe better than what came from a box, so just usually used the box.  She then found this one and passed it on. I put it in my recipe box but never made the brownies until for some reason I thought of it yesterday.  It’s better than a box. Way better.

Brownies

In a large bowl microwave to melt:

1 cup butter (took a little less than 2 minutes in my microwave).

Stir in:

3 cups sugar
1 Tablespoon vanilla
4 eggs, one at a time

Sift over top:

1 1/2 cups flour
1 cup cocoa (Hershey’s Special Dark is what she recommended and what I used. Also be sure to pack it down a bit.)
1 tsp salt

Stir well to blend. Then add:

1 cup semisweet chocolate chips (Or even better according to her is chopped bittersweet chocolate. I used the semisweet chips and it was darn good.)

Spread in  a 9 x 13 pan. Bake at 350 for 35-40 minutes. I baked mine 35 minutes and when I took them out they seemed very soft in the middle but after cooling were about perfect. It makes a very fudgy brownie in the middle but with a nice crisp crust and crisp edges.

Enjoy! The only downside to these is that you’ll eat too many and you won’t want to share.

One thought on “Seriously Good Brownies

Leave a Reply

