Poetry Friday: If I Never Forever Endeavor

Standard

If in all of forever,
I never endeavor
to fly, I won’t know if I can.
I won’t know if I can’t.
I won’t know
if or whether
a flight I
might fly,
should I choose
to not ever give it a try.

I got If I Never Forever Endeavor out of the library for “N” week for Ruth school. (Nests. Also noodles and noses.) Holly Meade’s book poem perfectly captures the fear of a fledgling about to leave the nest for a first flight and provides a charming metaphor for anyone stepping out with trepidation to try something new. I could see this making a really nice alternative to the now overdone Oh The Places You’ll Go graduation gift.

Poetry Friday is hosted this week at Radio, Rhythm and Rhyme. Why not make it a resolution to have more poetry in your life in 2013? Consider stopping by and participating.

6 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: If I Never Forever Endeavor

Leave a Reply

