Armchair Cybils

Standard

So, what better way to start the new year than talking about books. The Cybils announced their finalists today. When I wrote about book challenges yesterday, I forgot the Armchair Cybils at Hope is the Word, which is odd, since I’ve been having a great time playing along with Amy the past few months.

I’ve concentrated on reading from the fiction picture book and non-fiction picture book categories. I read about 20 books in the fiction category, which felt like a lot to me, but there are probably 200+ in that category. So obviously I only scratched the surface. Of the finalists, I read Blackout by John Rocco, Me…Jane by Patrick McDonnell  and I Had a Favorite Dress by Boni Ashburn. I think I’ve read Press This also but it was earlier in the year and I’m not sure if I’m remembering it or the reviews of it I’ve read. None of the books that were my favorites (Naamah and the Ark of the Night, Doodleday, Argus or Grandpa Green) were picked for the shortlist but there were obviously a lot of books in the category I didn’t read. Of the ones I did read, I Had a Favorite Dress was incredibly charming and sweet. Both Ruth and I loved it, so that would be my pick so far. However, there are three others on the finalists I haven’t read but I now have on hold at the library. I plan on re-reading the others also just for fun and to play along before the winners are announced.

I read only a few books (6) on the non-fiction picture books list so I figured there would be a lot fewer I knew on the finalists list.  Still, of the seven books on the finalist list I’ve read two: Bring on the Birds by Susan Stockdale and I Feel Better with a Frog in My Throat by Carolyn Beccia. As you know, we all loved I Feel Better so I’m happy to see it on the list. And I’m also excited to read the other five finalists, all also on hold for me at the library. (Yes, we do have a great library system.)

I’ve had a lot of fun with the Armchair Cybils challenge this year. I hope more people participate next year (or jump in now, it’s not too late!). It’s encouraged me to read a lot of great new books with my kids and been a fun way to participate a little more in the kidlitosphere. I’m looking forward to reading the rest of the books on the finalist lists and trying to predict the winners.

Oh, and Happy New Year!

One thought on “Armchair Cybils

  1. Oooh, I’m so glad you’re playing along still! I think you’ll really like the other nonfiction picture books, especially the Jenkins and Arnosky ones. I think I’ve just about depleted my libraries’ collections of Cybils titles unless I can get a certain library director I know to purchase some . . . :-)

Leave a Reply

