Armchair Cybils

Standard

I’ve heard buzz about the Cybils around the blogosphere for the past couple of years but didn’t pay all that much attention. This year, Amy captured my interest with this post about a challenge of sorts she is hosting. The Cybils Awards are the “Children and Young Adult Bloggers’ Literary Awards” and are given yearly to what are considered the best new books  in a range of categories covering juvenile and young adult fiction. The nominations and judges come from the kid lit blogging community.

I thought it would be fun to play along with Amy. I’ve decided to start by reading as many of the nominees in the “picture book fiction” category as I can (and that I can find at my library). The biggest challenge in homeschooling right now for me is making sure I’m giving enough attention to my 2 yr old and (almost) 5 yr old. So, I figured this would also be a way to help me challenge myself to read more to them at their level. And I can be sure to get two extra “judges’” opinions on the books.

Check out Amy’s blog for more info or to play along too. If you don’t have a blog you can always read the books and comment over there or here in the comment section. And be sure and check back over the next few months for what hopefully will be some great new children’s book recommendations.

3 thoughts on “Armchair Cybils

Leave a Reply

