7 Quick Takes Friday

Standard

1. Words to describe me this week would be lackadaisical, lazy, unmotivated, boring, sloth like,  and sluggish. I could blame it on pregnancy brain or that the summer is finally getting more like normal DC weather in the increased heat and humidity. But those would probably just be excuses. Whatever the reason, I thought participating in 7 Quick Takes Friday would help me get back into the blogging thing, which I enjoy doing but for which I  have found it difficult to muster the ability to form coherent sentences.

2. John swam in his first swim meet today. It was unbearably cute. Our pool has a program called “swim school” which is kind of swim team lite. It’s a great program for the youngest kids. They only go two days a week,  have no pressure to compete in any meets, and they are still welcome to participate in any fun swim team activities. It’s a win-win situation. He’s loved doing it and really grown in his swimming ability. Today they had a lollipop meet as the end of the season. The older kids did all the usual adult things (timers, announcers, etc) and only kids under 8 yrs old could compete.  They got a lollipop for each event they chose to swim and everyone got a ribbon. I was pretty impressed that he was able to make it the whole length of the pool (a first) and that he wanted to try doing backstroke. He was by far the youngest kid trying backstroke and finished much later than anyone else. But it was great to see all the older kids and parents cheering for him. I think he felt like a star. I was proud of him but even better was that he was really proud of himself.

3. We watched the original Star Wars movies last weekend for the first time. The boys loved them. David’s favorite character was Chewie which might be related to his love of monkeys. He spends much of every day pretending to be a monkey. Or, now he sometimes he is Chewie.

4. School starts for us in just about one week. John informed me that he hates school. When I asked him what part he hated he wasn’t sure. Math. No, he likes that. Reading stories. No, he likes that. Science experiments. No, those are fun. Art projects. No, those are good. Hmmm. Maybe it’s just that he has a mean teacher.

5. I’m thinking about having fruit smoothies for dinner. Two out of four food groups is pretty good, right?

6. I just finished a great book, Look Me in the Eyes by John Elder Robison. It’s a memoir by a man with high-functioning Asperger’s Syndrome who was not diagnosed until about age 40. It prompted me to get some other similar books out of the library and I plan on reviewing them together at some point. But for now I’d say that Look Me in the Eyes is a very interesting read that I would definitely recommend.

7. I can’t think of a 7th thing. I told you I was feeling dull, indolent, lethargic, slack and torpid.

3 thoughts on “7 Quick Takes Friday

  1. My children are very into Star Wars at the moment too, but I’m not sure any of them have played a Wookee. I think they usually assign that role to our dog. :)

Leave a Reply

