WFMW: Teatime

Standard

Wfmwbanner Ironically, this is something I’ve realized works for me because I’ve been pretty
inconsistent lately with doing it. Absence makes the heart grow fonder and all that.

What I’m talking about is having teatime with my boys. It’s pretty simple. At
about 4pm we sit down at the table together and drink some tea and have a snack.
I don’t get out the fine china and linens because I don’t think they’d appreciate it.
(Who am I kidding, the real reason is  that we don’t actually own any fine china and linens.) They drink tea that is about 1/4 tea and 3/4 milk . If I have something on hand that is baked or special we eat that. If not we make do with graham crackers and peanut butter.

Usually during this time I read to them. I often save our Five In a Row book for teatime. Back before the pregnancy made me organizationally challenged I would do an art or music lesson once  a week during teatime. We’ll do that again. Someday. Sometimes we just read whatever they want.

It’s a simple idea but is a really great part of our day. It solves the problem of having two boys in the kitchen who are STARVING as I’m trying to make dinner. It gives us all a chance to sit down and rest (and often I’m the one who needs it most). And it makes sure I always have a scheduled time to read to them. We read a lot during the day at other times but I’ve found having this special time gives us all  something to look forward to.

So that’s what works for me. Head over to Rocks in My Dryer to find out what works for lots of other people.

5 thoughts on “WFMW: Teatime

    • acjhs

      You’ve seen my boys…I think you know that’s not happening. :) Right now we’re focusing on not spilling all the tea on the table because you are trying to slurp it out of the spoon instead of drinking from the cup. Baby steps.

Leave a Reply

